social media

Institute for Public Relations Announces Dr. Marcia DiStaso Will Serve as the New Director of the Social Science for Social Media Research Center

Gainesville, Fla. – Dr. Marcia Watson DiStaso, an associate professor in the College of Communications at the Pennsylvania State University, will become the new Director of Social Science of Social Media Research Center at the Institute for Public Relations. Dr. DiStaso serves as an editorial board member of the Journal of Public Relations Research, Public Relations […]

Dr. Tina McCorkindale

The Future of PR Research from IPR’s New CEO

Dr. Tina McCorkindale, the newly elected CEO and President of the Institute for Public Relations, discusses the strength of IPR and the future of public relations research in the below video. Dr. McCorkindale is credited with nearly 100 academic presentations and publications. She serves as past chair of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Educators […]


Grunig PRIME Research Fellowship Awarded to University of Missouri Doctoral Student

Gainesville, Fla. – Missouri School of Journalism doctoral student Yang Cheng won the 2015 Grunig PRIME Research Fellowship. In cooperation with the Institute for Public Relations, the annual award is sponsored by PRIME Research to honor James and Larissa Grunig. “As a data-driven communications consulting firm working with global clients, PRIME commits itself to elevating […]


University of Miami Ph.D. Student Wins Ketchum’s Don Bartholomew Research Award

Gainesville, Fla. – Zifei (Fay) Chen, a doctoral student at the University of Miami, has won the prestigious 2015 Ketchum Excellence in Public Relations Research Award, now known as the Don Bartholomew Award for Excellence in Public Relations Research. Sponsored by the Institute for Public Relations (IPR) and Ketchum Global Research & Analytics, the program […]

IPR's Inaugural Social Media Case Study

IPR Announces Winner of its Inaugural Social Media Case Study Competition

Winners Analyzed How Online Influencers Impact Brand Awareness in Swisspers® Sleep Naked Social Media Campaign Gainesville, Fla., – “Swisspers® Sleep Naked Social Media Campaign: A Case Study Exploring the Role of Online Influencers,” has won the Institute for Public Relations’ inaugural award for its 2014 Social Media Case Study competition based on the quality of […]

Institute for Public Relations

IPR Elects Cody and Doolittle as Trustees and Strengthens Commitment to Research Focus

Gainesville, Fla., April 28, 2015 – The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) announced the election of two trustees, Steve Cody, co-founder and CEO of Peppercomm, and David Doolittle, vice president of communications & community relations at Cox Automotive. With the election of these two trustees, the IPR Board remains committed to the top research priorities […]


PRSA-NCC Announces Partnership with IPR for Research, Measurement and Evaluation Category for the 2015 Thoth Awards

Fairfax, Va. — The Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) is partnering with the Institute for Public Relations (IPR) to judge and present the research category at this year’s 47th Annual Thoth Awards and Gala. The Thoth Awards recognize the most outstanding, strategic public relations programs and products developed and produced in the […]

Dr. Tina McCorkindale

New IPR CEO Brings Strong Research Record and Knowledge of Practice

Tina McCorkindale Elected Effective May 11, Replacing Retiring CEO Frank Ovaitt FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NEW YORK, NY, April 7, 2015 – The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) announced today the election of Tina McCorkindale, Ph.D., as the organization’s fifth chief executive officer since becoming an independent organization in 1989. McCorkindale, whose election is effective May […]

Hinson Brown Headshot

Michelle Hinson Elected Chair of IPR Measurement Commission

Gainesville, FL – The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) Measurement Commission has elected Michelle Hinson as its chair effective immediately. Hinson is Director, PR Measurement for CyberAlert LLC, an industry leader in public relations monitoring, measurement and analytics. The IPR Measurement Commission is composed of researcher-practitioners and thought-leaders in public relations research, measurement, and evaluation […]

Institute for Public Relations Distinguished Lecture and Awards DinnerNew York City

O’Dwyer features Institute’s Distinguished Lecture & Awards Dinner

Jack O’Dwyer featured IPR’s 53rd Distinguished Lecture and Awards dinner in his O’Dwyer’s Blog. Ray Kotcher, Senior Partner and Chairman of Ketchum, the Alexander Hamilton Medal, received IPR’s highest recognition for contributions to the practice of public relations on November 13 at the Yale Club in NYC. Kotcher’s acceptance speech “PR at the Speed of Light: Transformation, […]

Institute for Public Relations

IPR Conducting Search for Next CEO

GAINESVILLE, FL – The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) Board of Trustees has begun a search for candidates to become the next President and CEO of the organization. Frank Ovaitt, who currently holds the position, has announced his intent to retire from full-time duties effective December 31. “This organization is known for fostering awareness and […]


IPR Trustees Honored for Mentoring Impact by the Plank Center

Three IPR Trustees were honored for demonstrating the positive impact of mentoring at the 5th Annual Milestones in Mentoring Gala hosted by The Plank Center on October 30. Patrick Ford, Worldwide Vice Chair and Chief Client Officer at Burson-Marsteller, Wendi Strong, Executive Vice President at USAA, and Andy Polansky, CEO at Weber Shandwick, were recognized […]