IPR President First PR Recipient of Gerald Sass Award

Dear Colleagues,

Frank OvaittPlease join me in congratulating Frank Ovaitt as the 2014 recipient of the Gerald Sass Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication (ASJMC).  This award began in 1946 as the Citation of Merit Award and was renamed the Sass award in 1996 in honor of Gerald Sass’s may years of service to journalism and mass communication education.  Past recipients include The New York Times, Washington Post, Associate Press, Ben Bagdikian, Walter Cronkite, Bill Moyers, Randolph Hearst, and Al Neuharth just to name a few.

Frank is being recognized for his many years of service as the CEO of the Institute for Public Relations and for promoting a stronger relationship between the academy and the practice.  He is the first professional from the public relations field to be recognized by this award.

He will be recognized at an award ceremony at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication in Montreal on August 7, 2014, at 5:00 pm.

Brad Rawlins
Dean, College of Media & Communication
Arkansas State University
IPR Measurement Commission

Posted in [News] and tagged , .