IPR Measurement Commission Members

Since it was founded in 1956, IPR has earned an international reputation for bringing the power of research-based intelligence to public relations. As both a sponsor and catalyst, IPR delivers the evidence needed to formulate effective strategies and the methods to provide the scientifically sound measurement of results.  Unlike other industry groups, IPR is an independent, not-for-profit organization. Consequently, over the years the Institute and its Trustees have played a central role in elevating the entire field of public relations and continue to sharpen the ways the Institute fuels this rapidly evolving field.

The IPR Commission on Public Relations Measurement and Evaluation was created in 1997 to develop and enhance measurement and evaluation in public relations. Commission membership consists of more than two dozen research thought leaders with representation from corporations and non-profits, public relations firms, research providers and university faculties. Commission members have produced books and dozens of articles about public relations measurement and evaluation. Commission members are regular speakers at seminars and conferences, advocating for research and evaluation that demonstrates the effectiveness of public relations.


Mark Weiner
PRIME Research

Associate Chair

Thomas Stoeckle
Small Data Forum


Forrest W. Anderson
Independent Planning & Evaluation Consultant

Patricia Bayerlein
Gagen MacDonald

Shannon A. Bowen
University of South Carolina

Mike Daniels
Salience Insight

Allan Dib

Marcia DiStaso, Ph.D.
Pennsylvania State University

Pauline Draper-Watts
StrategyOne, Edelman

Marianne Eisenmann
inVentiv Health

David Geddes, Ph.D.
Geddes Analytics LLC

Michelle Hinson
CyberAlert, LLC

Elesha Hoffman

Allyson Hugley
Weber Shandwick

Angela Jeffrey
ABX Advertising Benchmark Index

Sarab Kochhar, Ph.D.
Institute for Public Relations

Tim Marklein
Big Valley Marketing

Jackie Matthews
General Motors

Tina McCorkindale, Ph.D.
Institute for Public Relations

Mary Miller
Miller Comms

Bernhard Mors

Julie O’Neil, Ph.D.
Texas Christian University

Katharine Delahaye Paine
Paine Publishing

Mark Phillips
The Smithsonian, National Zoo

Elizabeth Rector
Cisco Systems

Sue Serna

Gary Sheffer

Jim Simon
Simon & Associates

Stacey Smith
Jackson, Jackson & Wagner

Franklin J. Walton, Ph.D.
City College of New York, Franklin Walton LLC

Mark Weiner
PRIME Research

Sean D. Williams
True Digital Communications

Michael Ziviani
Precise Value

Research Fellows

Kathryn Collins
General Motors (retired)

David Dozier, Ph.D.
San Diego State University

James E. Grunig, Ph.D.
University of Maryland

David Michaelson
Teneo Strategy

Don W. Stacks, Ph.D.
University of Miami

Louis C. Williams, Jr.
Retired, The Lou Williams Companies

Donald K. Wright, Ph.D.
Boston University

Members Emeritus

John Gilfeather
Koski Research Inc.

Fraser Likely
Likely Communication Strategies Ltd

Walter K. Lindenmann, Ph.D.
Lindenmann Research Consulting

Sunshine Janda Overkamp
Overkamp Overkamp-Smith

Brad Rawlins, Ph.D.
Arkansas State University

David Rockland, Ph.D.
Ketchum Global Research and Analytics